The National Airspace System (NAS) was created by the FAA to make the U.S. airspace safer for all aviation and to protect persons and property on the ground. It is a complex network of both controlled and uncontrolled airspace, including air navigation, airports, and the density of aircraft movement within.

The NAS has two categories of airspace: regulatory and non-regulatory.

Under regulatory and non-regulatory categories there are four types of airspace:

  • Controlled airspace

    • Class A, B, C, D and E​

  • Uncontrolled airspace

    • Class G​

  • Special Use

  • Airspace Speed Limits

Click on the Airspace links below to study each lesson:





Private Pilot ACS PA.I.E.K1 - PA.I.E.K3 

AIM Sec. 3-2-2, 3-2-3, 3-2-4, 3-2-5, 3-2-6, 3-3-1

FAR Part 91.225