top of page

Publications (Private Pilot)

14 CFR

The FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) regulations are under Title 14 “Aeronautics and Space,” of the CFR (Code of Federal Regulation), which covers all aspects of aviation, such as: earning a pilots certificate, to maintenance of aircraft.

Section 14 list multiple different chapters such as:

  • Rules and regulations for pilots

  • Airspace

  • Airport operations and much more.


The Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR)/Aeronautical Information manual (AIM) (FAR/AIM), is the book that pertains to pilots; every pilot should get familiar with the chapters of the FAR/AIM.

The FAR/AIM is issued annually.

For an example 14 CFR Part 61 covers certification of all pilots, flight and ground instructors. It is also broken down even further by eligibility, aeronautical knowledge, flight proficiency as well as training and testing requirements.

Another part found under 14 CFR of the FAR/AIM is Part 91 which covers the rules and regulations for visual flight rules (VFR), instrument flight rules (IFR) of flight.

14 CFR Part 43 covers maintenance, preventive maintenance, rebuilding and alterations. If a pilot owns or is looking to own their own aircraft, they should become familiar with the preventive maintenance section of part 43.

The AIM, which is located in the back of the FAR/AIM book, covers basic flight information and ATC procedures in the national airspace system of the United States.

If you see a black vertical bar next to the text In the FAR/AIM,

that represents a change or revision has been made from the previous.


Other FAR Regulations:

Flight Review

The flight review is required every 24 calendar months, to act as pilot in command (PIC) of an aircraft. Gaining an additional certificate or rating counts as a flight review and resets the time. For an example if a private pilot passes the checkride and receives an additional rating, such as an instrument rating then the 24 calendar month clock is reset.

Per FAR Part 61.56, a flight review must consists of a minimum of 1 hour of ground instruction and 1 hour of flight instruction by an authorized instructor.


Change of Address

You must notify the FAA Airmen Certification Branch of any changes in your mailing address. Per FAR Part 61.60, you have 30 days to notify the FAA you have moved, after the 30 days you cannot exercise your airmen privileges. It is easier and quicker to change the information online at


Required Documents

When acting as PIC of other required crew member of an aircraft, you most carrier at all times your valid pilot certificate, current medical certificate. If requested by an Administrator of the FAA, the NTSB, or any state, federal or local law enforcement, you must present them your documents.

Your logbook is not required for inspection. 


Part 121 and 135

Part 121 covers regular scheduled air carries, such as the airlines (American, Delta, Southwest, etc.). Whereas Part 135 is for on-demand air carriers, such as charter airlines, commuter.


Part 61.49 states, that if an applicant fails any portion of the checkride, such as the knowledge or practical test. The applicant may reapply for a retest only after the applicate has had proper training from a CFI and an additional logbook endorsement from that CFI.


The NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board) Part 830 deals with all aircraft accidents and reporting requirements.


Advisory Circulars (AC)

An Advisory Circular is a type of publication issued by the FAA outside of the FAR/AIM. They provide additional guidance and compliance for items such as:

  • Airworthiness

  • Operating standards

  • Pilot certification

  • Training standards

  • Operational standards, including any other rules and regulations.


Airworthiness Directives (AD)

Airworthiness Directives (AD) are like recalls for automobiles but for aircraft. If an unsafe condition is found that requires immediate corrective action, the FAA will release an AD.

More information about AD’s is in lesson: Airworthiness


Airmen Certification Standard (ACS)

The Airmen Certification Standard (ACS) is the test guide for the practical test. It is to ensure the pilot applicate has the knowledge and processes the skills needed to exercise the privileges of Pilot in Command (PIC) for the certificate and or rating sot.

The ACS is broken down in to Areas of Operation, a few examples are:

  • Preflight preparation

  • Airports and Seaplane Base Operations

  • Takeoffs, Landing, and Go-Arounds

  • Navigation

  • Night Operations


Within each Area of Operation are tasks. Each task in the ACS is coded, and is broken down in to four elements.


Example 1:


  • PA = Applicable ACS (Private Pilot ‒ Airplane)

  • I = Area of Operation (Pilot Preparation)

  • D = Task (Cross-Country Flight Planning)

  • K3 = Task element Knowledge (Calculating)

Example 2:


  • CA = Applicable ACS (Commercial Pilot ‒ Airplane)

  • I = Area of Operation (Preflight Preparation)

  • B = Task (Airworthiness Requirements)

  • K3a = Task element Knowledge (Flying with inoperative equipment)

If you see a black vertical bar next to the text In the ACS, that represents a change or revision has been made from the previous. As previously mentioned above with the FAR/AIM.


Pilot Operating Handbook (POH)

The Pilot Operating Handbook (POH) contains all of the necessary information to operate the aircraft in a safe manner.

The POH must be onboard the appropriate aircraft at all times.



Airmen Certificate Standards (ACS) PA.lll.A.K8

Pilot’s handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge (PHAK) FAA-H-8083-25 (Ch.1)


Leave your comments below

FARAIM change.jpg
bottom of page