top of page


What is the FAA?

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is a U.S. government agency that regulates all aviation aspects in the United States.

The FAA is a part of the Department of Transportation (DOT). Their headquarters is located in Washington, DC.

The FAA also provides important information, regulations, and reference materials for all types of aviation student i.e., pilots, ATC, mechanics, etc., to include:

  • Aeronautical Information Manual (AIM)

  • Advisory Circulars (ACs)

  • Notice to Air Missions (NOTAMs)

  • FAA Safety Team (FAASTeam)

Under the FAA there are smaller field offices called Flight Standards District Office (FSDO). FSDO deal with all types of aircraft, large and small and all things aviation. Some examples of what the FSDO does:

  • Reports of low flying aircraft

  • Licensing and certification for pilots, mechanics, repairmen, parachute riggers, and dispatchers.

  • Aircraft repairs and maintenance

  • Air carrier operations and certifications

  • FSS - Flight Standards Service promotes safe transportation by setting standards for airmen, air operators, surveillance, setting regulations, and airmen records.


Leave your comments below


bottom of page